Convocation, May 6th, 2024

La version française est disponible.

On May 6th, Montreal Dio held its annual convocation service, this year at St. George’s Anglican Church. It was a joyful evening of celebrating the accomplishments of this year’s graduates and closing out the college’s 150th anniversary celebrations.

In Principal Zink’s opening words, he welcomed all those present in-person and online from as far away as Nigeria and China, a testament to the far-reaching impact of the college. He remarked with optimism that the college continues to see “tremendous fruits” from the integration of the United Theological College “including new programming in English and in French, new students, a growing and deepening inter-cultural student body, and new interest in ecumenical exploration.” Indeed, there was much to celebrate!

This year, the honorary Doctor of Divinity was awarded to The Rev. Dr. Mòrar Murray-Hayes in recognition of her trail blazing career in ministry and social justice after being the first woman to graduate from the equivalent of the Montreal School of Theology’s In Ministry Year back in 1975.
The Rev. Michael Blair, general secretary of the United Church of Canada, gave the convocation address. He encouraged graduates to focus on abiding in Christ, prioritizing deep discipleship as the foundation for a fruitful ministry. Earlier in the day, the college hosted a talk and Q & A given by Michael Blair about responding to the challenges of ministry in our current context.

Awards and Prizes

The Bancroft Prize ($200), for a theological essay: Morgan-Pierre Point

The Canon Mark Beaufoy Award ($200), for the demonstration and development of pastoral skills: Yvrose Lubérisse

Robert Reford Prize ($200), for the leading of worship: Morgan-Pierre Point

The Lachlan Gibb Award ($200), for preaching: Nathaniel McMaster

The Frank and Jocelyne Toope Memorial Bursary ($250): Sarah Wicks-Potter

The Lionel Temple-Hill Prize ($100): Phil Castonguay

The Alumni Association Award ($200): Linus Buriani

Prize for Overall Academic Excellence in the Bachelor of Theology ($250): Nathaniel McMaster

The Fairman Junior Award for General Proficiency in the Master of Divinity, second year ($250): Juyoung Lee

The A. Lloyd Smith Award for Mission and Outreach ($250): Wa Ching Chan

The R. Stuart Johnson Memorial Prize for Pursuit of Excellence in Biblical Studies ($250): Ozioma Obijiofor

The Gault Award ($300), for the final-year student who shows the best combination of personal maturity and readiness for ministry: Marie Silvenie Chéry

The Bishop Russel Brown Award ($250), for the greatest contribution to the life of the community during the year, as voted by the student body: Juyoung Lee