Online Convocation, May 31, 2021

At our annual Convocation on Monday, May 3, Principal Jesse Zink noted that the academic year 2020-21 was unlike any other in the 150-year history of the college but one in which the integrity of the community and its worship life remained in place and students were able to continue to learn and grow as Christian leaders for the church and world.

It was the second year the college held its Convocation ceremony via Zoom. This year, there were even more participants (nearly 150 Zoom connections) from an even larger number of locations in Canada, the U.S. and internationally. Guests quickly got the hang of applauding via hand gestures and extending congratulations to parents, children, siblings, classmates and friends via the chat feature. There was also the opportunity to “visit” with each of the graduates in a personal breakout room after the ceremony.

In addition to the graduates shown on the preceding pages, Dio conferred an honorary degree and recognized student achievements with a range of prizes and awards.


The Gault Award: Linda Moore
The Bancroft Prize: Tevfik Karatop
The Robert Reford Prize: Ben Stuchbery
The Lachlan Gibb Award: Linda Moore
The Canon Mark Beaufoy Award: Fresia Saborio
The Bishop Russel Brown Award: Alex Griffin
The Alys L.G. Slater Memorial Bequest: Ben Stuchbery
The Frank and Jocelyne Toope Memorial Bursary: Laura Quiroga and Sarah Wicks
The Lionel Temple-Hill Prize: Keemuel Ambalada
The Rev. Canon Dr. Lettie James Prize: Sarah Wicks